My Digital Identity

I recently received a email from my professor Alec Couros about a video on digital dossiers.  The video really made me think about the digital identity I am creating for myself.  What is the identity I am leaving for others to see and follow? My identity now? For the future?  I have always been a bit hesitant with trying new technology programs and I do sometimes worry about giving too much personal information out for others to see.   I think part of my fear is not understanding the positive or negative effects that come with using technology.  I grew up in a rural community and the opportunities for using technology  were limited.  I never did have much experience with using technology until my university years.

When I started university, my goal was to take some computer classes to expand my knowledge on using technology and become more aware of how to safely use it.  I am currently taking my second educational computer class and continually learning more useful information.  I find that the more time I spend exploring and trying new things, the more confident I am with using the tools and programs.

I am definitely building my digital identity through the various projects I am working on and the communication tools I use on my computer.  I feel that I have found a whole new set of resources through communication with people from across the world.  By using tools like twitter, skype and blogs I can connect with people that I normally would never be in touch with.  All these people can offer support and advice on my concerns or questions about technology.   It is great to have online  support and learn from their experiences.  Thanks everyone 😀

I know that there are worries and concerns of privacy when using technology, but I think that it is important that we use technology.  Technology is apart of our lives in many different ways and it will only become more advanced.  I think people need to become more educated, so they can successfully use technology in their lives.  I think about my career in teaching, what opportunities or limitations will I have working with students and technology?  Will I be able to do the activities I want using technology?  I hope that I will be able to incorporate technology in my classroom and teach my students how to safely use it.  Many children use various forms of technology,  so we (educators) need to teach them all the positive and negative effects associated with using these programs, so they can make good choices and use them safely.  As well,  I think that it is important that they understand that they are creating a digital identity whenever they use technology.

I think that times are changing and people are becoming more comfortable with technology.  I can definitely see the difference in my own family.  My parents are not big into using the internet and they still have dial up internet on their farm! My mother worries about anything I do with technology.   She always asks, “is that safe?” and warns “be careful!”  It is really hard to tell her about the exciting projects I work on for my computer class.  On the other had, my five year old niece is already using the internet with her mother. She knows how to turn on the computer and what to click on to get to the internet.  It is interesting to think about my niece’s digital identity and how fast she will be involved with many aspects of technology.

This is a really good video to watch and reflect on your own digital identity.  Think about the tracks you are leaving behind.  How often do you leave messages or send pictures to friends through email or text messages? This video reminds me to think about the technology I am using because it will show in the tracks I leave behind.  Watch the video below and reflect on the following questions:  What digital tracks are you leaving behind? How are you creating your digital identity? What is in your digital dossier?

One response to “My Digital Identity

  1. Pingback: My Digital Idenity « Rochelle Anderson’s Blog

Leave a Reply

