Technology in the Classroom

For my mentorship project, I have been working with Ms. Edward’s classroom on helping her students write news stories to publish on their wiki.  It is a major learning process for her students.  They have been working on practicing interviewing and questioning skills to gather information for writing their stories.   As well, they have started the writing process because I received a link from Ms. Edwards for their new story drafts.

I read through each of the drafts and I can see the variety of interesting stories developing in her classroom.   I learned something very interesting about Ms. Edward’s students from reading these stories.  Currently, Ms. Edward’s students are visiting through Skype with the Presbyterian Day School in Memphis, Tennessee.  The reason for their Skype meetings is to teach the students from Tennessee  about Native American culture and dances.  The first meeting was on March 4, 2009 and the students from Ms. Edward’s class welcomed their new friends by sharing traditional Native dances.  It looked like a wonderful experience for the students to share their dances and teach the students more about Native American culture.

After reading about this story,  I looked at Ms. Edward’s blog as well as Mrs. Trefz blog (teacher from Tennessee) to learn more about the learning experience happening between these two schools.  I can see that this is a wonderful learning experience for both classrooms. The students are sharing important things with each other and learning about the similarities among these two cultures.

From this experience, I think it proves how valuable technology is for bringing together collaborative learning around the world.  These teachers would have never been about to develop this type of learning without the tools and resources in technology.   These students are able to see each other and talk with each other, even though they are miles apart.  As well, I would have never been apart of their learning without technology.  I am able follow their experiences through pictures and comments on their classroom blogs.  Technology opens doors to sharing experiences, so it is like I am in the classroom with them.

Throughout this semester I have been reflecting on the importance of technology in the classroom and how I can use it with my future students.  I can definitely see the benefits of technology and how creating relationships with other people will expand the learning for students.  Technology can develop a rich learning environment for students and invite them to become active learners. In the future, I will use technology in my classroom for providing my students with active, engaging lessons.

I am going to continue to follow this journey with these students and reflect on the valuable learning and relationships that are being made because of technology.  I want to thank Ms. Edwards and her students for opening up their classroom and sharing their learning experiences with me!

If you are interested in learning more, here are some links:

Ms. Edward’s Blog (Coulee Dam, Washington)

Mrs. Trefz Blog (Memphis, Tennessee)

My Mentorship Projects:

Miss Teale’s Blog (Regina, Saskatchewan)

3 responses to “Technology in the Classroom

  1. Pingback: Topics about Culture » Technology in the Classroom

  2. Great site this tealek.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  3. formidable site this tealek.wordpress.com nice to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

